Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (22)

Special effects didn't save this movie

Posted : 3 years, 6 months ago on 27 December 2014 02:15 (A review of Exodus: Gods and Kings)

While the movie is visually impressive, the screenplay is a mess and the characters are cold, distant and artificial. Portraying God as a 11-year-old child was definitely not a good idea either. Christian Bale may be a wonderful actor but is just not convincing as Moses, not because he couldn't be convincing, but because the dramatically icy screenplay doesn't let him show his best qualities.

Scenes that could have been remarkable, such as God's speech when He tells Moses about the 10 commandments, are portrayed as a 30-second-scene right in the end of the movie, with no context and no emotion. It is obvious that any Christian (and also non-Christians) who has watched the movie was expecting a more emotionally touching scene regarding the 10 commandments, but it seems like the movie's goal was to make actors wear extra amounts of eyeliner.

It made me remind of Alexander, which had many mistakes including a blonde Colin Farrell and Angelina Jolie as his almost-his-age looking mother. Both movies were not quite historically (Biblically, when it comes to Exodus) accurate , had amazing special effects, total lack of emotion... and were a waste of money and time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

W.E. review

Posted : 4 years, 6 months ago on 4 January 2014 01:08 (A review of W.E.)

The critics have been excessively harsh towards this movie. Perhaps if it was directed by a famous cinema guru , people wouldn't be so mean about it. It's a beautiful movie that really made me cry. The edition and photography are fantastic, and I love the way Madonna directed the actors. Andrea Risebourough does a brilliant job as Wallis. Really good and intelligent movie, amazing cast.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Parenti serpenti review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2013 11:46 (A review of Parenti serpenti)

The movie criticizes in a funny, but clever way, not only Italian families, but families in general : their hypocrisy, lies, gossip, the funny side about them. Really good and terribly hilarious. A classic of Italian cinema, I recommend it to everybody.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Casa de mi Padre review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2013 11:06 (A review of Casa de mi Padre)

Warning: this movie must be watched only by people with very good sense of humor. I don't understand why people are criticizing it so much : it's really good, and since it's a comedy, it's supposed to make us laugh, well that made me crack up, so I just love it! Great parody of spaghetti mexican western movies, satirizing elements of classical mexican movies and mexican telenovelas. Whoever doesn't understand Mexican pop culture will not understand this movie either. Love the performances by Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna, who are superior actors that can be chameleons and play any kind of character. Really funny and really good to watch in a boring afternoon. If the movie had been turned on into a drama - without the funny parts and stuffed animals and stuff - it would be a nice movie as well. I really really like it!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inglourious Basterds review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 15 April 2013 11:00 (A review of Inglourious Basterds)

Hans Landa is the greatest villain of all times. No wonder Christoph Waltz won the GG, Academy Awards, BAFTA, Cannes and many other awards for his acting. It's perfect, just like the rest of the movie. Monsieur Tarantino, a votre film je dis BRAVO!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Django Unchained review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 15 April 2013 10:55 (A review of Django Unchained)

Best movie of 2012, undeniably. It's wonderful to see how easily Tarantino portrays such a hard time that was the 19th century in America , and the poor conditions of slavery with his personal spice. He's always a genius and we can see his brilliant work here: the cast is perfect, the plot is remarkable and the production and scenery are breathtaking. Jamie Foxx is a natural hero as Django, Christoph Waltz is perfect as King Schultz and Leonardo DiCaprio teaches us about acting playing the wonderful character that is Calvin Candie. King Schultz and Django are one of those epic partnerships of cinema, like Bonnie and Clyde. And I will always thank Quentin for the adorable scene in which King Schultz tells Django about the legend of Broomhilda and Siegfried. Sweet , touching and harsh all at the same time. It is already one of the best movies I've ever seen in my entire life. A masterpiece, a capolavoro, bravo, bravo , Tarantino!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blue Velvet (1986) review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 15 April 2013 10:41 (A review of Blue Velvet (1986))

I personally don't like this movie. I think it's terribly overrated. My concept of a terrifying character is really different from the Frank Booth played by Hopper. Frank Booth is the stereotypical villain : disturbed, gives evil laughters, likes to mock at people. A cliché. Kyle MacLachlan doesn't convince me either with his Jeffrey Beaumont. It could have been a much better movie, but it ended up as one of those poor thrillers we see in HBO. Sorry , I won't pretend I like it only because it's by David Lynch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Graduate review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 13 April 2013 01:02 (A review of The Graduate)

Very overrated in my opinion. Dustin Hoffman is a great actor, but his performance here is just okay. Moreover, the development of the story is boring, the plot twist doesn't convince me, not even their characters. The end of the movie, which had the intention to be a surprise, came out to be completely unnecessary, and in fact it ruined the whole movie. A more realistic finale would have made this a much better movie. I give it a 6.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love in the Time of Cholera (2007) review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 3 April 2013 04:36 (A review of Love in the Time of Cholera (2007))

That's the example of how a movie can destroy the beauty of a book. It seriously cannot be compared to the book, since it doesn't contain the emotion, deep feelings and insights Gabriel Garcia Marquez could so beautifully write about. Basic mistakes in production, the make up of the actors is ridiculous, and most actors show a very poor performance.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gladiator (2000) review

Posted : 5 years, 6 months ago on 2 January 2013 06:12 (A review of Gladiator (2000))

The performance by Joaquin Phoenix is something that can be given only by geniuses. Amazing work of art by Ridley Scott. Definitely one of the greatest movies of all times, a perfect mix of action, drama, and perfect performances by both Crowe and Phoenix, giving us a great pleasure to see such a big rivalry on screens.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block